Complete Newbie - Looking for Advice/Opinions

So I’m 26 and work at Tesco earning around 14-15k a year. It has been my only “proper” job so I am rather scared of leaving in the fear of going to something that I don’t like. I am wanting to get out of there as it is a dead-end job & living payslip to payslip with about £1100 every 4 weeks…

I have stumbled upon a HGV training course with hgvtrainingnetwork.com (I think they are the same as North West HGV Training?), where obviously they finance your training and you repay back once employed. I have been driving a car for about 6 years and that’s all I have so I would be working my way up right from the bottom. I have spoken to a guy who said drivers with no experience can get around 20k, going up to max of around 38k for experienced artics. He has said that a lot of people have done these courses and it has changed their lives. I have never thought “Oh I’d like to be a lorry driver”, however I have always had the interest of driving one and I do enjoy driving? I have a bit of a speech impediment so my vocal skills aren’t great, and I am also a rather skinny and non-built guy.

So I have a few questions really…

• Is this company trusted & well known?
  • Is there a lot of phone calls and vocal things to do? Obviously I would hopefully get used to this…
  • And kind of just a general “Should I go for it?” question.

I am hoping for some genuine replies from experienced and inexperienced drivers, with stories and good/bad parts about the job? Any form of advice or information is huuuuuuugely appreciated, as this is both a scary and massive step in my life/career.