Places you should not be sent to

Hi everyone
I have been driving for a couple of months now, so still very new.

Six weeks of that was doing Pallex day work multi drop in a class2 which wasn’t great but I stuck with it.

Then I started class 2 tramping, doing deliveries the midlands and Lancashire etc, which which I enjoyed.

This all changed when they sent me to central London, first week there not to bad, but second week was awful!

I got sent to one drop which had 7.5 tonne weight limits and steel corner bollards in the way of every sensible route to the where I was going.

It left me going down a road with parked cars either side and only through sheer luck I manage to get through.

Another drop I had to go round a residential area through tightly parked cars, and this time I got stuck I couldn’t get through.

It left me with no option but to back out onto a busy road.

I rang the non emergency police line and asked if they would help me get out as this could be very
dangerous. They said it is not a police problem and refused to send anyone.

Thankfully just as I was about to back into the road a passer by stopped me said. I will help you get out mate let me stop the traffic, god was I grateful.

London is awful to drive around because of the sheer congestion and madness of it all.

I just feel like quitting, but I am thinking of getting a class 1 licence as the class 1 trampers say that the rigid trampers here have the worst job of all.

Does anyone have similar stories when they first started ?

Does it get any easier ?

regards.

As a newbie you are probably on a loser twice/thrice over:
You cant pick and choose jobs as much as more experienced driver might.
You lack the experience to see which drops are likely to be inaccessible.
When you do see a problem you may lack the confidence or the authority with your office to refuse a job.