Reversing Tips at Night

Need tips for reversing at night… Obviously I have the get out and look, windows open, mirrors clean etc.
Trying hard but struggling like crazy.
Any tips will much appreciated…

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk

I’m a nights supermarket driver so do a lot of night time reversing. I only passed class 1 12 months ago so I’m still a novice but practice will make perfect. Firstly try and get into a position where you’re not needing to use too much steer. 2nd, try and avoid blind side unless absolutely necessary.

As you’ve mentioned, get out and look, open windows, clean mirrors etc.

Something someone told me was to keep an eye on the wheels, firstly on the trailer when you’ve got a bend in the trailer, then when you’re approaching the last bit, look at the rear wheels of the tractor unit. This does help to you know when you need to straighten up. I’m still practicing but I have improved loads since I passed my test [emoji106]

Good luck

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

stuwozere1:
I’m a nights supermarket driver so do a lot of night time reversing. I only passed class 1 12 months ago so I’m still a novice but practice will make perfect. Firstly try and get into a position where you’re not needing to use too much steer. 2nd, try and avoid blind side unless absolutely necessary.

As you’ve mentioned, get out and look, open windows, clean mirrors etc.

Something someone told me was to keep an eye on the wheels, firstly on the trailer when you’ve got a bend in the trailer, then when you’re approaching the last bit, look at the rear wheels of the tractor unit. This does help to you know when you need to straighten up. I’m still practicing but I have improved loads since I passed my test [emoji106]

Good luck

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

Thanks… I’ll give that a go as it’s something I’ve not tried.

:slight_smile:
The more light you can show to the rear the better.