Effect of HGV license has on car insurance?

Car renewal has dropped through the letterbox. I never told them about Class 2 being added to my license and never told them about my change in occupation.

Either way I guess I’ll tell them the changes before renewal, however can I expect a positive or negative effect…or nothing at all?

manicpb:
Car renewal has dropped through the letterbox. I never told them about Class 2 being added to my license and never told them about my change in occupation.

Either way I guess I’ll tell them the changes before renewal, however can I expect a positive or negative effect…or nothing at all?

If it matters I was a forklift driver before!?!

manicpb:

I’m guessing it should help a bit, try Cornmarket insurance they give discounts to hgv drivers.

I use Hastings and its had no effect on my insurance.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Some occupations have a negative effect on your insurance premiums (try telling them you are a pub licensee or an entertainer/musician…), some have a positive effect. I’d expect being an HGV driver to be neutral.

I wouldn’t expect simply having HGV groups on your licence to have any effect at all.

Try this site, it shows the percentage increase or decreases. They modified it so it doesn’t show the percentage changed anymore.It will show youthe difference between your current job and a new vocation in driving.

I won’t mention what I do for a living on this forum in case I’m virtually stoned to death, but I pay £30 a year more than a HGV driver?!? (No, I’m not VOSA! I have more powers than those guys… :wink:).

https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/insurance/car-insurance-job-picker/#sectors

Roymondo:
Some occupations have a negative effect on your insurance premiums (try telling them you are a pub licensee or an entertainer/musician…), some have a positive effect. I’d expect being an HGV driver to be neutral.

I wouldn’t expect simply having HGV groups on your licence to have any effect at all.