Part Time Jobs for Class 1 Drivers

I work in IT and took up driving larger vehicles as a hobby.

I passed by Bus test in May, Class 2 in September and finally Class 1 in Dec (All first time :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: ). When I passed by Class 1, both my instructor and examiner suggested I get a part time job to brush up my skills on reversing :blush: :blush:

In that, I have started speaking with a few companies but no one wants to take on a driver who can only work part time (max two weekends a month) as IT work keeps me very busy and I don’t want to give up on my hobby of driving large vehicles :frowning:

What is the best way to get some jobs around the MK area - I don’t mind travelling to get myself a bit more experienced, esp in the reversing manouvre.

As always, grateful for your help

Agency is the way to go. I’m in a similar situation and work 4 days every 6 weeks but manage to get work

no1dieselman:
Agency is the way to go. I’m in a similar situation and work 4 days every 6 weeks but manage to get work

Should that be 3 days in 6 weeks :question: - 1 day every other weekend if working mon to fri

All agencies are looking for experience :cry: :cry:

Is there any agencies you know of who will take new drivers?

ihasham:
I work in IT and took up driving larger vehicles as a hobby.

~snip~

IT work keeps me very busy and I don’t want to give up on my hobby of driving large vehicles :frowning:

ihasham:
Is there any agencies you know of who will take new drivers?

You’re not a new driver you’re a wannabe part time hobbyist driver who can probably only legally work a couple of days a month, why would any agency waste their time on you :confused:

Bit harsh there tachograph.
Just register with an agency. You may get lucky and get a shift or two before New Year, but then it may well go quiet for months.
One of our agency staff worked in another job ( as a mechanic) and did every weekend as hgv driver, despite working 60odd hours a week in his normal job.