First job after passing class C - Tippers?

Hi all. I’ve really enjoyed reading some of the posts on here and it’s been some comfort knowing that there are many other like-minded people out there having similar experiences to me especially regarding taking their tests and the anxiety over their first steps into the HGV job market.

Like many other people on here, it seems, I am getting into this industry as a career-change and as such I am really coming into it with little-to-no knowledge about the different types of driving work, which companies are reputable etc.

All I know is that I want to drive for a living and I’m going to give it my best shot.
As the title suggests I have recently passed my class C and have been spending the last couple of weeks sending out emails, signing up on Indeed and phoning potential employers.
One of the more promising conversations I had was with the owner of a quarrying company fairly local to me. I explained that I’m a new pass and after some back and forth he said he liked what he had heard and he’d be willing to take a chance with me and put me on the tippers. Only downside being that I would have to pay for and obtain an EPIC (site safety card) for about £120.

As a side note this particular vacancy is offering £12 p.h. which is on the higher end of the class 2 agency work being offered in my area (£10.50-£12.50ph).

My initial thoughts after passing my test was that I would go and try some agency work, that should give me a nice variety of work and I could get a feel for what I liked and what I didn’t. Then once I knew a bit more about the different companies in my area I could approach them for something more permanent. Is this a reasonable plan or not?