First day on the fridges - any advice?

Hey guys,

May be doing a few days work for Yearsley starting from tomorrow.

Till now I’ve only done pallets and general haulage, never cages or chilled food.

I know I’ll be expected to handball the food into the customer’s location, but what else will be different? I’ve never used cages before and assuming it’s just a case of load them as per the manifest and then push them as close to the desired location as I can?

How do I store the cages in the wagon? Are they kept in place by one of those cross bars?

1st unless some one shows you the fridge controls don’t ! fiddle , But keep eye on Temp gauge
2nd keep rear door shut unless unloading/loading
3rd if chiller starts up but don’t sound happy call it straight in
watch out if doing frozen and it’s a wet day as ice will build up by door

Yearsley don’t do twin evap fridges.

Should only be frozen you deal with. Work is easy enough, most places will be bay drops with the odd pump truck action.

No cages used, only pallets. Straps and bars don’t really get used with them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We use mainly cages and I’ll always make sure there’s 2 straps/bars holding the last ones just in case one method of restraint fails there’s a back up, it’ll probably be frozen so tread carefully on that floor it can be like an ice rink I know as I went a cropper a few months ago !!.

Is it multi drop or longer distance stuff ?

Mostly as been said.
Important thing is get someone to show you how the fridge works.
The second most important thing is make sure there’s fuel yes FUEL in the tank do not trust by the gauge get a bit of stick and dip the tank, the amount of times I’ve picked up a fridge that the gauge says full when the senders been connected wrongly.
If your riding on the lift with cages 2 cages only.
If using straps the hook needs to be the depth of at least half the cage.