Change of Career

Afternoon chaps/chapettes,

So after 10 years of running my own business and watching it lose money over the last 2, I’ve decided to hang it up and do something I’ve always dreamed of. Drive a lorry.

Licence has been sent off, medical is booked even thought i’d get my eyes tested just to be sure in the meantime. Found a local company to teach me and help me get qualified, everything is in place. Now its over to you to see if I’m doing the right thing or I’m completely mad?!

I’ve got a ton of questions regarding C and C+E jobs/earning potential etc, whether its worth looking at becoming a Ltd Co. immediately or to wait till I’ve got some experience, if the job is as enjoyable as I imagine it could be, if the earning potential is there and if there are true Mon-Fri jobs (as that’s what i’m looking forward to most, getting my weekends back.)

So thought i’d pop my head around the door, say hello, put the kettle on and if any of you have a spare five minutes for a chat, then take all the advice you’re willing to throw at me.

Well done for deciding to take the plunge, I hope it goes well for you.
No words of wisdom from me as I have no right or experience to throw anything back at you as I am in exactly your position, except I have been in business for 12 years and HGV driving has never been my dream job… that was a footballer :slight_smile:)
I have loads of questions too.
I must admit I am pretty concerned about entering the industry and also I am concerned about the availability of half decent jobs on passing, as I think a lot of it is area dependent and some of the wages look pretty poor considering the huge responsibility and importance of driving.