POA question

Hey guys,

I know POA doesn’t come off working hours (hence why so many drivers abuse it) but what’s the score about making me wait for hours before starting a long shift?

First day at a new company (agency) and I’ve been told I’m an extra driver today and to go and get some sleep (not really practical) and they’ll be in touch. I’ve been waiting 5.5 hours already in the canteen and the drivers coming in now are moaning their load wont be ready for a couple of hours as warehouse busy.

Assuming there’s nothing to stop them making me wait for 8 hours on POA then start a lengthy shift?

I’m getting paid for waiting but I’m really tired as I’ve been off all week and struggled to get to sleep early last night as haven’t been getting up early past few days - must’ve only had 3 hours which would’ve been fine if I’d cracked straight on with shift as I’ve slept well the past few days.

For you to use POA in theory they were supposed to tell you in advance about the length of the delay you were to encounter but personally myself I’d put it on POA and when you do get going you’re starting from fresh.

Tailschwing:
Hey guys,

I know POA doesn’t come off working hours (hence why so many drivers abuse it) but what’s the score about making me wait for hours before starting a long shift?

First day at a new company (agency) and I’ve been told I’m an extra driver today and to go and get some sleep (not really practical) and they’ll be in touch. I’ve been waiting 5.5 hours already in the canteen and the drivers coming in now are moaning their load wont be ready for a couple of hours as warehouse busy.

Assuming there’s nothing to stop them making me wait for 8 hours on POA then start a lengthy shift?