3 Months In.

Apologies to start off with, this might be in the wrong forum section but I wanted to offer my experiences with newbies that I have had after 3 months of working on Class 2’s.

Sure, 3 months isn’t a massive amount of time potentially to offer my thoughts, especially with the old skool types that have being doing it for 300 odd years and know the ins and outs of a truck more than their specific type of partner in life, but I just thought it would be a glimpse into what one may expect in the run up to passing their test and looking for work afterwards.

I worked in retail for many a year, security wise, before venturing into office work, sat at a desk, looking at the same faces day in and day out, answering phones and generally getting peed off with the command and control management style, bullying, target driven office monkeys that were other people in positions they must have shagged their way to. It came to ahead when I got to work last year, sat there looking at my ‘chained to the desk neighbour with an attitude problem that even a Nun would want to slap’ and thought ‘I’ve ruddy had enough of this, I’m off’.

I then went to HR and told them ‘I’m off’, they asked ‘Where to?’ I replied, ‘Anywhere but here’, got up and walked out. The feeling of relief after 13 years of sitting on my now lardy arse was epic. The weight lifted off my shoulders. I drove home listening to ‘Gonna Fly Now’ from Rocky, turned up to 12 (11 is so yesterday). It then set in about a mile from home ‘Oh what the hell have I just done? Mortgage, bills, car etc. How will I manage?’

In an extreme turn of luck, HR phoned and said they would pay me to the end of the month due to services rendered, great I have a months worth of wages. Now what?? I happened to contact a mate and chatted about what I had done and he said ‘Why not try getting your HGV license, plenty of work, decent money and the view from the office changes all the time’.