Long Hours

Hi folks - my first post here, so please be gentle :slight_smile:

I’m in my late 40s and planning a career change (I’m an engineer working in the construction industry and carry most of the technical responsibility in our company, which I’m afraid tends to keep me awake at night wondering "did I design ■■■ correctly ?.. or is it about to collapse and kill someone ?). I’ve always enjoyed driving (tractors, landrovers etc. from the age of 7 IIRC) and summer holidays for the last 25 years or so have always involved touring Europe with a tent in the boot, or a camper van, so whilst I don’t have any direct or family experience of trucks, heading off into the unknown with just a map for company is pretty much my idea of fun…

Having said all that, I’m fortunate enough to be in a position now where the kids are almost grown up, the house is pretty much paid for and the wife and I have an inexpensive lifestyle, so I’ve no real interest in working all the hours to make a good salary - I’d rather work sensible hours, make modest money and try to enjoy life. You’ll understand my alarm then when I read stories of 15 hour days, 70 hour weeks etc being the norm in the industry (I don’t understand how a 15 hour day is even legal according to driving hours regs ■■). Is everyone doing this, or is there a role for someone like me with modest expectations ? I think if you asked what my perfect driving job would be, I’d say:
Mainly Mon-Fri, with maybe a couple of nights out during the week (total maybe 45 hrs), and maybe a week away in Europe once a month.
Is this cloud cuckoo land, or do these kinds of roles exist ?
I’m in NI, by the way.

Thanks in anticipation…

for you my friend being in ni then working as your wanting,then your wages will be …pish.
its agency for you my lad,and 9 hour shifts in tosco or sainsburys.