Hello

Hi guys

Don’s the name. I live a few miles south of Edinburgh. I’ve been trying to get into trucking for the past couple of years.

After years of dead end, low paying jobs I decided to try and get into driving. I’ve been driving for 36 years with a pretty decent record. As such I reckon that driving is the best skill I can offer to a potential employer.

I used to drive 3.5t some 20 odd years ago but hadn’t had the opportunity to do so since. In 2016 I discovered that I had Grandfather rights. I did my CPC with GTG Training in Edinburgh. While I was there one of the instructors advised me to go for my Class 2. He said that 7.5t was usually multidrop which suits younger people rather than me at 50. Jumping in and out of the cab all day might not be much fun. However, I had no money to do my Class 2. Perhaps once I get a good job and a bit money.

I then registered with Blue Arrow in Livingston as a 7.5t agency driver. Blue Arrow has been great with me. They got me a few jobs with Menzies Distribution in order to get me some experience. I would then be able to use that experience to get a full-time job.

Late in 2016, I became seriously ill. I went through a period of treatment and recovery and I am now once again in good health.

Unfortunately despite being in good health and the DVLA liaising with my Doctor in order to ascertain whether my ability to drive was compromised by my treatment they have put me on a medical review licence for LGV and PCV. I have to pass a medical before I can drive either. (I will post separately in regards to my Driver’s Medical.) Saying that I am over 45 and have not had a medical yet.

Medical pending, I want to try again to get into driving. 7.5t would be a start, however, I would at least like to get into Class 2 maybe even Class 1.

Hopefully, the information on this forum can help me progress into full-time driving

Cheers
Don

First well done on getting better. I hope the medical goes ok.