Class 2. Need ADR course advice

I am a new class 2 driver and want to get my ADR done. I am paying for it myself and I just want to ask is there any point in me doing tanks and packages or should I just do packages?

Also when would the tanks part of the ADR be needed for a class 2 driver? If indeed it is needed?

Cheers in advance

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Maybe seasonal work in the sticks for central heating oil or gas tanker drivers,

As an aside, make sure your training provider can put your hours towards the DCPC if you need them.

oldwelshdude:
I am a new class 2 driver and want to get my ADR done. I am paying for it myself and I just want to ask is there any point in me doing tanks and packages or should I just do packages?

Hi oldwelshdude,

My honest advice is that you consider your likelihood of needing to drive a tanker.

Only your local knowledge of your area can answer that one I’m afraid.

oldwelshdude:
Also when would the tanks part of the ADR be needed for a class 2 driver? If indeed it is needed?

Cat C driving licence + ADR tanks + UN Class 3 are all needed for this job:

Picture1small.jpg

Cat C driving licence + ADR tanks + UN Class 2 are all needed for this job:

Kif_0527small.jpg

It’s the slack season for both of the above at the moment, but things can alter if you’re in the right place at the right time with the right licence. TBH mate, I’d say it’s unlikely, but you never know.

I hope this helps. :smiley:

I would recommend a residential course, no need to commute daily, mix at night with drivers to revise the course after class ends.
Friendberry training in Somerset may offer discounted courses if you live beyond a radius from Taunton.
I took the packages and tanks with them, with one phone call, they sorted the accommodation in the area.
Some great pubs for evening meals.
Having the tank add on would be handy to keep, if you progressed to class one, for example, refuelling aircraft at any airport.