Passed CatC, But offered van work

I passed my category C licence about a month ago, I just got all my CPC/Tacho cards and stuff.

I started looking for work about three days ago applying online and walking into recruitment agencies. Despite having passed my CatC the agencies only offered me van work.

I’m a novice driver so it doesn’t seem completely unreasonable, but Is this standard? Should I take the van work in the hope they will find me some CatC work after a week or two? Or decline and try and find other recruiters?

Right now I’m of the opinion I will take the offer of van work while applying for other CatC jobs. Money is not a problem for me right now, I just want the experience.

******* UPDATE 13/6/18 *********

I fished about a bit with some other agencies and got offered some work driving Bin lorries, It wasn’t the type of work I had in mind when I took my test but the hours are comfortable and it utilises my Cat C Licence. I quite like it so far and despite it being quite scary my first week I’m getting the hang of it now. Its not a traditional driving job but there is lots of technical ability involved. I’ve probably spent more time reversing down little terraced streets and cul-de-sacs than driving forward! I feel like I’m learning a lot and that’s all I care about at this point. The management are very accepting of the fact that I’m a new pass too and are quite patient with all my little errors and questions.

I wouldn’t even consider it and would be mildly annoyed if an agency called me offering this sort of work. The only way I’d consider it acceptable is if they started with an apology and saying they were desperate - and I’d expect to be paid class 1 or 2 money for getting them out of trouble.

But it depends where you are based and how much work there is. Most agencies don’t like letting you loose with their good clients in case you upset someone and lose them business. So they throw crap at you and see how you handle it.