Part time Work.

Was Just looking for some advice really , I currently work as an engineer for the Big British oil company on there ships .
However I work a 3 months on 3 months off rotation and I get very bored on my leave , and usually end up working during my leave.

I have tried Parcel work and quite enjoyed it , was thinking of doing my Class 2 and doing some agency work.

My question to you is do you think it is worth it , I get my bonus in april so was thinking of spending a little a bit of it and doing my class 2. This isn’t really to supplement my income however I am saving up for another house.

Would I struggle to find agency work if I’m not going to be around all year , once on leave I would likely be doing full time hours so that isn’t an issue.

Or would having 3 month gaps in driving time affect employment prospects , any feedback welcome.

In addition any recommendations on training providers in the North west region , I’m based in Blackpool but willing to travel anywhere really.

I have looked at the following online so if anyone’s trained with them where they any good.

Red rose
Lan train
ribble valley
Enterprise

and also heard good things about Pete smythes place.

I think you’ll only ever get agency work,but you probabaly know that anyway…
You may struggle to get work as a freshly passed class 2 driver and tbh I’d just stick with parcel work if you enjoyed that you particularly if you’re just looking for a boredom buster.
Most places will want you to go in for a assessment drive and jump through various hoops,Hazard awareness ect before considering you anyway in which time you could be earning driving a van and tbh the divide in pay between van work and class 2 in narrowing year on year due to minimum wage rises but class 2 wages going no where.