Category D to C

Evening All,

So, I currently drive buses for a living, and fancy giving it a go without passengers. Has anyone else made the switch from buses to HGVs? I already have a full Manual Category D licence and CPC: will I find the experience helpful, or is driving HGVs different enough that it’s like starting all over again? Anyway, I hope you guys and gals can help!

If you can drive a bus, you wont find it difficult to drive a truck. (Driving it to test standard may be an issue though!)

In most other respects, the job is totally different. In some ways harder, other ways easier.

If you choose to train for CAT C I strongly suggest an assessment as, hopefully, a full course shouldn’t be needed.

All the best, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Was someone on here a few weeks ago asking the same question don’t know if he took the leap hopefully someone can push you in his direction…

The job itself comes with the positives and negatives like anything I suppose just expect long unsociable hours if you do take the plunge. But I Suppose you may be use to that if you drive buses for a living. Best of luck with everything :-')

Whats wrong with the buses?

SuperMultiBlue:
Whats wrong with the buses?

The cargo answers back.

Broadly speaking, yes. I find, as an average, that passengers are a big part of why I want to make the move. I’ve been assaulted by a passenger in the past and the biggest cause of stress is interaction with passengers. I like the actual driving bit, just not the negative passenger interactions…

Fair enough. Even though you’re familiar with a large vehicle id still say you’d need the full week of say 4x4 hrs then test on the 5th day purely for you to learn and remember the test routes ie lanes, positions, speed limits. Test standard remember.

Good luck

No need to learn test routes in order to pass the test

ROG:
No need to learn test routes in order to pass the test

:laughing: