Curtainsiders?

I had a good couple of days with the roro’s, but the agency rang me today to offer me something longer term. I had to pop in after work to fill out some paperwork and met the driver I will be with tomorrow night.

I am shamed to admit that I’ve never done curtainsiders before, only boxes. What tips do you guys have? I know that strapping the load is a major bone of contention. The only couple of days that I was on a curtainsider at Swains, the guy I was with didn’t strap anything. It’s surprising how many drivers don’t strap and how many trucks rely on internals and don’t even carry straps. Usually when I start, it is a ghost town, there is no one around to ask for straps. When I start, it’s a case of pick up the truck and go.

So what tips can you give me? I am looking forward to it, but don’t want to be labelled as a troublemaker if the general consensus is use the internals (you would be surprised how many trucks are running about without) I just want to do the job right and not rack up any fines. The cards are stacked against the new drivers anyway because it will take longer and if you count in the time to open the curtains and climb up to do the straps, it will take considerably longer than the experienced driver does.

If there are no straps don’t take it out. It’s part of the working tools. And strap pretty much everything. You are probably paid by the hour. I say pretty much everything as I had a lad try and strap a roll of tape down at a well-known builders merchants. After I stopped laughing I told him I’d carry it in the cab.

I’ve had stuff move and it’s not fun. I’ve had one argument with a women from DHL who said I was wasting time rather than getting her ‘priority load’ moving (this was when it was snowing badly recently - and were metal cages of alloy parts for cars). I told her to drive it herself and I’d sit in the office and fiddle with paperwork. She went away after that. You need to stand up for yourself sometimes.