Mod 4 CPC Practical Demo

Hi all

Newbie here, passed my Cat C second time around on the 13th Feb. Need to do the Mod 4 for my work but having looked at the costs of training from a few places and their available dates, I’ve decided to save myself £150/£200 and teach myself, plus I can book my own test sooner. I’ve had a bit of a trawl through the forums and found some good links and PDFs.

Just a few questions - obviously I passed my test using an 18t, does it have to be an 18t for the CPC or will a 7.5t do? The 18t I’ll eventually be using for work is VOR at the moment but my boss has a couple 7.5t that aren’t total wrecks.

Also, does the vehicle have to be loaded as it is in the part 3 practical test or can it be used empty/unladen? If I teach myself I’d have no way of loading it or even anything to put on it in the first place.

Apologies if these questions have already been asked!

A rigid box vehicle such as a 4 tonne GVW van will do

gov.uk/guidance/rules-for-l … ving-tests

Rules for medium-sized lorries: categories C1 and C1+E
A category C1 vehicle is a medium-sized lorry:

with a maximum authorised mass (MAM) of at least 4 tonnes
at least 5 metres long
with a closed box cargo compartment at least as wide and as high as the cab
MAM is the maximum weight of the vehicle including the maximum load that can be carried safely while used on the road. This is also known as ‘gross vehicle weight’.

7.5 tonnes or below isn’t loaded for test. A vehicle presented for Mod 4 doesn’t need extra mirrors or L plates. You must be aware of the correct use of ratchet strap (you will need to build it up and strip it), chain tensioner and load-lock bar. You wont be expected to spend time working it out on test.

I wouldn’t recommend your course of action but still wish you all the best with it.

Pete :laughing: :laughing: