What drew you into hgv driving?

It’s Saturday afternoon, I have just got up and mrs jbaz is having a nap, so me being me, I started to ponder this question.

My dad was a class 2 driver and I have just always wanted to drive an artic. For me, I love manoeuvring large vehicles in tight places. Suits me good as I now work as a shunter :slight_smile:

My driving career started in the late 80s (the good old days, lol) I was working in the warehouse at kts as a flt driver. I wanted to drive the 7.5s so I asked, the next day they gave me a run, gulp! I hadn’t expected things to move so quick! It was a hell of a learning curve, but I got there in the end. I was delivering fruit machines all over the country, sleeping across the seats and I loved it! That was a time before the ridiculous amount of enforcement we face now.

I passed class 2 in 1999, and immediately signed up with agencies and I got a wonderful variety of work everything from local library 12t van to general haulage in Scotland.

When I went from 7.5 to c2, there really wasn’t a learning curve as such. It was just like driving a long van. But, when I passed ce, there was a steep learning curve. It is a totally different game and it took a while to learn.