Want some honest answers about future work as an HGV driver

Hi guys.

So I am booked for my Class 2 with PSTT for January - looking forward to it and hopefully passing it will be painless :wink:

I just want some honest views on future work as an HGV driver. I currently work in a warehouse in Warrington area. Earning around 1300-1400 in bank a month (that includes a 180 bonus that is not a given, although we hit the bonus target often but will be more and more hard to do it) so around 16000-16500 a year after taxes. just an honest question - will I earn more than that as an HGV driver ? I do understand hours are longer etc. - I’m ok with this. Mainly looking for answers from people in the north west area.

Still on the verge of going PAYE or LTD, but that’s discussion for another day.

Best source is go to indeed.co.uk and type in hgv driver for warrington area. That will give you an indication of what is available and pay etc etc.

Class 2 work may get harder after New Year. Large employers like Nisa, Costcutter and just announced today on news P&H are struggling and on verge of administration. All three heavily use class 2 for deliveries. Booker was swallowed up by Tesco which means low paid Stobart work.

My outside bet for you is Royal Mail. Decent pay as premiums attached.They heavily use class 2 and once in and settled they will pay for your C&E should you wish to go for it. Plus they operate artics out of Warrington as a major hub.

Bafferty:
Best source is go to indeed.co.uk and type in hgv driver for warrington area. That will give you an indication of what is available and pay etc etc.

Class 2 work may get harder after New Year. Large employers like Nisa, Costcutter and just announced today on news P&H are struggling and on verge of administration. All three heavily use class 2 for deliveries. Booker was swallowed up by Tesco which means low paid Stobart work.