Seeking advice, considering career swap! (Long Post)

Hey all, so just looking for some input from the experienced guys and gals to hopefully provide some kind of reality check for me…

Quick background:

Live in Essex, UK, I’m 25 come February, engaged with 2 sprogs under 5 (started early, ha!).

Current job:

I’m a dual fuel engineer (gas/electric) working for one of ‘the big 6’ energy suppliers, get paid on average 30K per year + good pension / okay perks. It’s a job that I don’t mind doing, keeps the roof above our heads, pays the bills, food on the table and some extra for me and the boss - it’s a start!. However, one of the best things about the job I love is the driving side. Now, I don’t drive anything as monstrous and impressive as some of you, I drive a mere Ford Transit Custom - however I’ve been driving for some 5-6 years now and love every minute I’m in a vehicle behind the wheel, as of late more than the the actual installation side.

The bad:

Recently, a combination of my employer screwing me something chronic and the overwhelming corporate-mindset where I’m treat as a ‘mere engineer’, not a skilled tradesman isn’t helping my motivation for the job. Somehow, despite that I’ve gone through; 12 months training, passed a period of mentoring, sat numerous exams (each with 90% pass rate, no exceptions), constantly working to industry-standards, numerous practical exams, regular auditing of my work, on-going training and face-to-face customer service etc, somehow, someone trained for some 2 weeks (?) who sits in the office taking telephone calls has more authority than me. And there’s rumors floating about our job security. Kind of makes me think of the stories I hear of you truckers that get blamed for everything - guess I’ve already got a skin for that! Heh.

The good: