Not driven C+E in over 10 years. Advice Please

I passed my CAT C and C+E when i was 17 in the Army in 2006. I drove only CAT C from passing my test and the largest i drove was an 18T. I havent driven anything bigger than a car in over 8 years. I am wanting to take up a career as a driver i am now 29 and no longer in the Army.

I plan to do my CPC early January and start applying after then. im looking at going straight into driving artics ideally. im just a bit aprehensive having not driven in so long and the next time i will drive one in over 10 years maybe when i have an assesor sat next to me. I plan to go through all the theory side of things before hand as i can do that from home.

I just wondered has anyone else gone back into HGV driving after a while away from it and how did you find it plus any advice so im as prepared as i can be. Thanks :smiley:

Why not have half a day in an artic with a training school - perhaps the same school that you might be doing your driver cpc with :bulb:

I will look into this thanks for the advice. Il have a look around. Didnt realise you could do things like that once you had passed your test. :smiley:

Richard9645:
I will look into this thanks for the advice. Il have a look around. Didnt realise you could do things like that once you had passed your test. :smiley:

It’s still some one paying to drive the truck learner or not money counts and may help stop you doing something silly

Blag it and go with an agency. You will break sumat but you will get paid your hours while the agency will look like complete ■■■■■ to their client, win-win!

yea thats very true i dont know why i thought you wouldnt be able to. Im having a look around now. Will definately be worth every penny. I would be quite confident but its like you said the something very silly might happen.

Thats another way of doing it thanks supermultiblue :laughing: