Hazard perception advice

Morning all!

I’ve just started practicing for my theory and hazard tests using the Deep River app which I think is good so far.

I’m finding the theory easy but the hazard perception slightly more challenging. I’m a fairly astute driver and have only had one small accident in nearly 20 years of driving - a small bumper collision when the car in front emergency braked at an empty pedestrian crossing causing me to skid into the back of him.

I’ll take the example of one question which I just failed. In this example, you see a rider mount his motorcycle and then pull off. I immediately clicked as soon as he pulls away, but this was too late - the tutorial says something like “rider gets onto bike and may pull ahead of you”. My confusion is that there are many other instances in the videos where pedestrians are approaching the road from the pavement before stopping in time - these aren’t officially classed as hazards but could surely be seen as “pedestrian is approaching road and may cross without looking”.

I may be overthinking this, but I wouldn’t naturally assume that somebody would pull out into traffic without looking - I would just watch carefully and maybe slow down a bit in case. Things like puddles are obvious, but why should I assume a motorbike would blindly pull out but not a cyclist or pedestrian?

I want to try and get myself in the right mindset now as my fear is that I’ll end up memorising all the hazards in the videos (I have a great memory) and they will then not be very useful for practice.

Apologies for the long post and thanks in advance.

BigStu81:
I wouldn’t naturally assume that somebody would pull out into traffic without looking

You need to reverse your thinking because that is what many do in real life = that is a potential moving hazard and needs a click

The video you are using to learn is not the same video the DVLA will be using when you sit your test.