First time Tanker Shift

So my agency job today was to go to a water company to take a tanker full of spring water to deliver to a drinks company in Bridgwater (ironic) :smiley:

I am still an newbie even though I have now been driving for 14 months…

I was a bit apprehensive as had thoughts of the water slushing about and wobbling the trailer.

I don’t think I have ever pulled a full load in weight before so pulling 30 tonnes of water that’s 30,000 litres was not easy…

Up the hills on the M5 it did struggle and was down to high 30’s at some point. On the roundabouts (or Islands as the Midlanders call em) I took it easy, I was warned that too much exertion will trigger the sensors to auto brake…not sure how true this is.

Delivery was easy…just reverse to the hose and the operative sprayed some Sodium Chloride on the valve and hose, let some water loose to flush and connected. It did take an hour for it to unload and the ride home was much more relaxed.

Would I do it again…I think so…no curtains, tail lift, double decker, cages, pump truck, magnums, pallets…

I know I’ve been living in the midlands too long as I now call roundabouts islands. Used to argue with the wife over what the proper name should be.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Try asking for a pastie in a buttered barm cake and see what kind of looks you get here… :smiley: :smiley:

Are we going off topic??

When oversensitive cornering auto sensors apply the trailer brakes it feels momentarily like the sensation you get if an inside drive axle wheel has started to spin and TC/ASR has cut the power on a sharp corner, after its happened a few times and you realise cos dry road and say 40mph that no way was a loaded vehicle going to be spinning a drive wheel up like a powerful RWD car.

They are definately weight sensitive (or lean/yaw or both?) because it never triggers on mine when empty.

Incidentally if anyone knows exactly how these things operate it would be interesting to know.