Realistic wage expectations

Hi, 1st time posting here but have been a visitor here for a few months . I am a full time cab driver at the moment but I literally can not do it anymore, it’s one of them jobs where everybody you pick up is an absolute idiot, And the people who I work for are far far worse. I currently earn around 25k after tax and n.i .
I am an experienced mechanic and mot tester but in my area the wages are closer to 20k and I cannot take that much of a hit being the sole provider for my wife and kids (mortgage) etc etc .
I currently have my class 2 through working as a mechanic but have never driven anywhere apart from in the yard (apart from my training and test of course) I have my class 1 booked at the start of October . Wish me luck !
So apart from just saying hi, I was wondering what is a realistic wage figure would be for a fresh class 1 driver? Am I likely to get close to the 25k that I’m currently earning? Am I likely to find a job? I’m not fussy about work and will do anything to pay the bills tbh, Days - nights - tramping- trunking - multi-drop . I am currently in Cardiff area . Thanks guys
Mike

Unless you have some contacts or good luck then from what I read on this forum it is more likely you will get part time agency work

Driver shortage = myth … Job ADs are virtually all agency … Newbies not being grabbed by employers for full time perm the moment they pass

Many have been lucky by getting out there and handing CVs personally to TMs + car boot packed with work gear just in case they need you now especially on a monday morning

You might benefit from speaking to local recovery / heavy recovery firms - if you can combine lgv and your mechanic experience in that role hopefully will bring a suitable wage. The nature off the beast does tend to mean some on call / nights though.

Here in the Midlands you’ll take home between 550 and 650 (all in) as a mon-fri day tramper.
And there’s plenty of work.