auto boxes...

Okay I’ve been driving class C for nearly 4 years now so don’t class myself as new but I wouldn’t call myself a pro yet. Just changed jobs and got put out with another driver round London and the south in a puddle jumper with an auto gear box.

I’ve gotten a bit fed up with the auto it changes at weird times like at 2400rpm in some gears which seems high compared to where I used to change in the old daf also gears to go brakes to stop seems weird and harsh as I used to downshift to control steep descents etc with the retarder and the gear change is for want of a better word clunky . The guy I am out with is the company trainer, I mentioned the gear change and he suggested overriding it in certain situations to which i laughed it off and said it probably would have been better being a manual, his reply was it cheaper to get trucks in auto, which is a point I understand from a cost point of view but not a driving point of view.

My point is this I am aiming to take my C+E in the next year or so, I know that an auto will take the pressure off while driving test etc. Would having to override an auto gear box and getting it wrong count against you or should you just continue to rely on the box to get it right?

Select the wrong gear in manual or auto too many times and it will be a fail

It can also be a fail if doing it as a one off causes problems to your lorry, the examiner or other road users

Simple thing is let the auto box do it’s thing and you can’t be wrong can you.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

wrighty1:
Simple thing is let the auto box do it’s thing and you can’t be wrong can you.

+1 stick it in D, press the loud pedal and voila.

Don’t bother trying to change gears in an auto on your test. Its not worth the agro.

+1 in all of the comments when test day comes around you will have enough on your plate why make it harder?

A question relevant to this for the trainers here:
Is there an emergency stop exercise on the current LGV test?