uncoupling a trailer

just been reading on another truckers site about droping a trailer on its nose. im not an expert but ive been driving artics since 1977 and never done it, i was told then ,ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE, there is 5 THINGS TO REMEMBER ,. first , SUZIES, LEGS, TRAILER BRAKE, NUMBER PLATE ,PIN. and count them out on your fingers before you pull out. PROVIDED YOU HAVE 5 FINGERS ,HAHA… another tip is when UNCOUPLING, the pin is the LAST THING YOU DO, AND when coupling is the FIRST THING YOU DO, hope this helps some of you newbies, remember 5 THINGS [zb], HOW HARD CAN IT BEE ■■? ITS A SACKABLE OFFENCE ,

Do them in the correct order and it is safer.

For uncoupling:

Brake (trailer brake - APPLY IT FIRST!)
Legs (lower them)
Airlines (detach them)
Clip (undo it)
Kingpin (release it)

That spells B L A C K

For coupling, simply do them in the opposite order:

Kingpin - engage
Clip - attach it
Airlines - attach them
Legs - raise them
Brake - release trailer brake LAST

And remember your number plate… :slight_smile:

I prefer the second version. Not least because that’s the one that will pass a test - as long as you check the lights when you’ve done.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

But first choose a suitable place to drop your trailer. A loaded trailer could have the legs sink into soft ground.

Sent from my GT-S7275R using Tapatalk

gingo:
just been reading on another truckers site about droping a trailer on its nose. im not an expert but ive been driving artics since 1977 and never done it, i was told then ,ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE, there is 5 THINGS TO REMEMBER ,. first , SUZIES, LEGS, TRAILER BRAKE, NUMBER PLATE ,PIN. and count them out on your fingers before you pull out. PROVIDED YOU HAVE 5 FINGERS ,HAHA… another tip is when UNCOUPLING, the pin is the LAST THING YOU DO, AND when coupling is the FIRST THING YOU DO, hope this helps some of you newbies, remember 5 THINGS [zb], HOW HARD CAN IT BEE ■■? ITS A SACKABLE OFFENCE ,