From zero to long distance

I’m in the process of getting my C license and try to start a career as a truck driver. I have past my theory tests and I’ll do the practical soon. At the moment I work in the hospitality industry so I don’t have driving experience. I’d like to do long distance driving. My questions are:
-Whats the best way to become a long distance driver?
-Is it possible/likely to get a job doing this only with a C license and no experience?
-Do you recommend me to do local jobs first?
-Any other advise?

Thanks!

There is some CAT C long distance work though it does tend to be more common on CE. There is no extra barrier to a new pass driving on long distance. I see no reason to work locally first though you may find it easier to get a start on local as that is where most of the CAT C work is.

Other advice? Be very careful with your choice of trainer. There is still no legal requirement for a truck instructor to be registered, trained or qualified. As a result, the quality of training varies widely.

I suggest you give our office a call 01623 555661. The team are under pressure to reach targets this month so there’s a bit of room for negotiation!

On top of that, you can be sure of top quality customer service and driver training.

All the best, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Hi, your problem is is that there is a queue of experienced drivers waiting for distance work (me being one of them, lol) having said that, it does exist. I’ve had class 2, 7.5 (last week a run to Wigan and back), I’ve even had Scotland in a combo van for a same day courier. It is there, the best route into it is agency. The vast majority of rigid work is local multi drop :cry:

Well first off, what do perceive as long distance? Covering Europe or the U.K.?
And then there’s the question of what sort of work the companies within the distance you’re willing to commute offer.