Wages for newbie with hi-ab in Reading Berkshire

Hello all.

Hope your not melting in the heat.

I’ve done my lgv (2012), when I was in the fire service, but only recently done my cpc, got digi card and did my first cpc yesterday (drivers hours and tacho’s), I’m doing my ALLMI hi-ab mid July (which I’ve put the cpc hours on for too) all being well I’ll pass that and start looking for a new job (currently working for Autoglass).

I’d like to get into grab loading but many adverts say 2 years grab experience and full 35 hours cpc, so I was thinking of going with a builders merchant to gain experience for a few years, being near to Reading, Maidenhead and Slough there is a few about, I’m just curious as what to expect wage wise as a newbie, I don’t want to get mugged off, is around £22k about right?

If push comes to shove there are loads of agencies around me.

Any advise will be grateful received.

Thanks, Daz.

As a newbie you should expect the same wage as an oldie…you are still driving a hgv just the same.
Around here 22k for class 2 is about right.

Thank you, wasn’t sure as a new driver they would try and take the mick and offer a slightly lower wage.

Daz3244:
Thank you, wasn’t sure as a new driver they would try and take the mick and offer a slightly lower wage.

If they do then refuse it unless its very short term whilst you learn the ropes,certainly no more than a month though…they won’t be charging customers any less because a newbie is driving the truck :smiley:

xichrisxi:
As a newbie you should expect the same wage as an oldie…you are still driving a hgv just the same.

Sorry but I can’t agree with this, why should someone with no experience and no proven record of ability expect the same pay and conditions as someone with years of experience and a proven track record.