New Driver (Reversing Issues)

Good evening,

I am just really looking for advice as I am a newly qualifies driver. I passed my Class 2 a year and a half ago with all the intention to start some Class 2 work, although I didn’t realise how difficult it was going to be with agencies wanting a minimum of 6 months experience. A few agencies advised me that it’s better to have a Class 1 as they can take you on into Class 2 work to get further loading/road experience.

Once I passed my Class 1 I was then struggling for occasional weekend work, mainly due to my full time role in the week (office job). So it has now been a year and I haven’t really driven, to the point now where I am nervous to take out a Class 1 vehicle as I don’t know what to expect at RDC’s/sites. I have watched a few videos on the internet and TBH some of the bays look really tight.

I passed my Class 1 first time so I thought I wouldn’t have any issues, but after driving in the yard where I currently work it’s not as easy as I first thought. I didn’t know if it was worth maybe taking some extra training/refresher course or just jumping in at the deep end and having to ask if I get stuck.

Many thanks

Izzy7172

Hi there.i passed my c+e last nov and due to cpc ■■■■ ups i couldnt drive until recently.i had a drive assesment and to be honest took it nice n easy.
I passed it and start training next week.all i can say is (and i may be wrong) but deep end.n take it slow n steady there no shame in asking for a bit of help or advice.and on the job is where we all learn

Daveeck:
Hi there.i passed my c+e last nov and due to cpc ■■■■ ups i couldnt drive until recently.i had a drive assesment and to be honest took it nice n easy.
I passed it and start training next week.all i can say is (and i may be wrong) but deep end.n take it slow n steady there no shame in asking for a bit of help or advice.and on the job is where we all learn

Hi,