Average wage for class 2 drivers

Hello all.

I’m looking at changing careers, I currently work for Autoglass, I’m on 20k a year with a bonus system, which I earn about 1.5 - 2 k a year on.

I already have my c class which I acquired in 2012 when I was a firefighter, although this is auto only.

Before I depart with my money for my cpc, hiab and refresher course, which will be in a manual, I wondering what I could expect to earn in the following, pallets, grab loader and building merchant, what hours are expected too.

I understand that I will earn slightly lower as I have no experience but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I’ve tried to research it but keep getting different answers from 19k up to 27k.

Not sure if it matters but I live in Reading, Berkshire.

Kind regards. Daryl.

Can vary a lot mate, especially for someone new to it. Usually (unless you are very lucky and have a permanent job lined up) you need to build up some experience with the likes of Agencies and the pay is usually hourly and can vary from NMW upwards depending on the agency rates/ time of day/ weekend/ bank holidays etc. Sometimes you can work long hours at what looks like a fair wage for someone new (say £10 an hour) but time you take out breaks and POA if you don’t get paid for that and average out that rate, what you take home is usually less.

Things like grab loader cards/ adr etc. can increase your rate but unless a company is willing to pay you for getting those cards, you’d need to pay for them yourself. Personally, I wouldn’t bother till you got the magic ‘recent’ experience box ticked with general driving which can be anything from 6 months to 2 years generally. I can’t see the point in paying out my pocket for things like ADR tickets early on as the chances of using them will be quite low, better to get some general driving under your belt first (imo).