Interview with Brakes

Hi all. I have my first interview this Friday with Brakes after passing my Class 2 in November. Very nervous about it. Think I have a sit down interview then going to do vehicle checks and assessment drive. Has anyone had an interview with them as unsure how to prep. Apart from what I did on my CPC which wasn’t a lot I’ve had no experience of vehicle checks, taco usage etc.

I used to work as a buyer with Turner Price, smaller idea to Brakes but basically the same. They can teach you all that stuff. They’ll be more interested in you looking presentable and polite, as you will be the face of their company. Very best of luck to you

Good luck mate. As said, it’s more about you as a person rather than can you do the job… your cv/ application already tells them you could do the job otherwise they wouldn’t have asked you in. Might be worth a bit of googling regards interview questions and answers though. You can tend to get asked questions like what do you know about the company, why do you want to work for them, why should they employ you rather than any other applicant sort of thing.

Thanks both. Really nervous as it’s my first call in to an interview. Had no luck before this

Don’t over-think the interview. All they are looking for is someone with the right attitude, and who can communicate with customers and other workers. If you can find out a little bit about the company beforehand then that will be all to the good.

The assessment drive is where your basic knowledge will be checked out. Make it clear to the assessor that you are a new driver so won’t know all the ins and outs of the job. Ask him to go through the operation of the tacho (with you immediately following up by repeating the procedure, to show you understand). Just be yourself. Above all, enjoy the experience and learn whatever you can from it - that way it won’t be wasted if you are unsuccessful this time around.

Welshy74: