Insurance problems

I’m having trouble with insurance - nothing new in that I guess.

I have my O license application in with the traffic commissioner at the moment and its expected to come through in the next 4 weeks. In the mean time I have bought a tractor unit and is now sat in my operating centre.

However, Truckinsure, who have been quoting me for insurance, now say they can’t cover me because I haven’t got an O license. But to get an O license I need a unit, now I have I can’t get insurance before the license come through because I don’t have an O license.

Am I missing something here? Obvioulsy I’m nervous about having a unit sat in anywhere without insurance, its not going to be used, and indeed it can’t be before I get the O license but I just need it covered.

Has anyone else experienced this? I had been hoping to insure it as a private HGV for a couple of months, but no one seems willing to do this.

Any pointers would be appreciated, as I’m sure I’m not the only new OD to have this problem - or am I?

hmm,tricky,there are actually one or two insurance companies that will insure the wagon without an o’license on it even though you can’t legally run it without one but how the premiums would compare to what you’ve already been quoted i don’t know,perhaps just insuring it as an asset rather than a road going vehicle would be the answer.
take it you’ve not applied for an interim license? if not four weeks maybe optimistic my full license took three months and a fair bit of two and frowing to suit it all out.
sorry i can’t be of anymore help.
paul

forgot to mention you don’t actually need to own a vehicle to get an o’license you only need to add the vehicle to license before you operate it.