Some advice for tractor unit hire

Hello fellas, altough i’ve got some experience in this line of work for a few years, i’ve just got my o-licence recently and i would like to rent a tractor unit to get the things movin’. Have any of you got some advice from where i could rent a decent unit at a fair price ? Cheers

And how long a piece of string were you looking for, sir?

Fair Price ?

Wrong time of the year to be looking for a deal, Christmas is on the horizon & the “big boys” will be snapping them up in big numbers, unless the job stops on 01.11.19 ?

Cant see that happening though, by the sheer number of enquiries Im getting for “traction” for the next 3 months :wink:

Personally, Id have had this one in the bag well before the O licence was granted, as they wont talk to you without a trading history, or a very large wedge up-front…

And…Keep away from those shysters who advertise @ £295 [IIRC] a week for a unit, they are crooks, with crap kit & even worse back-up… #beware

As Stanley says rental prices this time of year will be sky high if you can even find something, personally i.d take a punt on something for a couple of grand to see you into the new year, get a bit of trading history under your belt and come January the rental companys cant give stuff away so you would get a much better deal

Stanley Mitchell:
And…Keep away from those shysters who advertise @ £295 [IIRC] a week for a unit, they are crooks, with crap kit & even worse back-up… #beware

You can include Truckfast in that, or if you see it another way on FB, Cheapest HGV Hire.

There are enough posts about Truckfast and their shenanigans on here, and I know of some that are in the process of legal proceedings against them.

Ken.