Transport Manager Course

Hi, I’m new here looking for some advice / guidance

I work as a transport despatch clerk for a well known UK operator, I have some albeit very little knowledge about transport, I’m looking to further my career by taking a TM course.

Can anyone advise how long the course is, I’m willing to take the course in my own time (have to book a course and pre book holiday)

Do I have to have a medical (I’m not interested in driving / obtaining a class 1)

Looking online (Google) numerous operators offer this course although I’m not sure on reliability / suitability) therefore, can anyone recommend a reputable supplier within the Birmingham area

Looking at fee’s via Google, I’m anticipating to be paying around £1500 for the course if the companies via Google are correct (I’m willing to self-fund)

Appreciate any advice / guidance

My course lasted two weeks with the exam the following Friday. No medical, it’s purely an academic exam. £1,500 is probably about the going rate nowadays. Can’t help with recommendations in your area, I did mine in Kent. Someone may come along who can help with that.

Thank you Harry,

I’m a little confused, hoping someone can advise me, do I need to do a TM course, or can I do a CPC course without having to do a TM course.

I see a lot of vacancies on the internet within a transport environment requesting the applicant be international CPC qualified

I’m looking for a 1st step on the ladder, so, maybe a TM course can be done later after doing a CPC course if that’s possible

You are talking about the Operator’s CPC course which is the qualification required to stand as the suitably qualified person on an Operator’s Licence. So it is essentially a transport manager course (although it is possible to be a “transport manager” without an Operator’s CPC if your duties do not include being named on the licence). There is no other transport manager course as far as I’m aware.

Thanks Harry,