Where to start with buying trucks

I own a small beverage delivery business, I’m English but live abroad. We currently use vans for our deliveries, however, the business is expanding and I need to look into buying trucks for deliveries.

We have a lot of stops. The ideal vehicles would be one with a rolling curtain. The type that just has one or two locks/handles and once opened they can swing open from one side to another literally like a curtain. Ideally between 7.5 and 12 tonne vehicles. That fit around 6 to 8 euro pallets approx.

The problem is I don’t know where to start. I have limited knowledge about trucks and my competitors vehicles all have the makes and model numbers taken off their trucks so I have no reference point.

I can’t afford new vehicles as of yet.

Can anyone recommend any make and models of trucks which match my description? I’m looking for vehicles like the attached photos. And best places to source the vehicles.

And what are the costs like for maintenance when compared to vans?

Thanks in advance.

You will need to sort out your Operators licence before you look at vehicle purchases if you have not already done so.

I think, better option will be if you’ll rent a truck, no worries about breakdowns etc. and many companies doing good deals if youll sign with them for a long rental period :wink:

Them little Isuzis and the others that all seem to share the same cab are ■■■■ good little trucks, they look a bit toy like, but stand up to the daily abuse very well, Argos run them and their drivers are er interesting!

The small Dafs ie the LF45 are a bit fragile, their slightly bigger stable mates the LF55/65 with the heavier front axles and running gear on the other hand are also good trucks the small Dafs all run the ■■■■■■■ 4 and 6 pot engines and are super tough.

If you search for Daf/Iveco/Isuzu/Fuso curtain sider theres bound to be some out there.

Thanks for the tips. But I don’t need an operators license where I’m based. Thank goodness.