Starting own grab buisniess ? Help

Hi guys,

Just a thought this is… i have been working for a few years now and its money for old rope lol. I was thinking of getting a wagon myself… most places charge around £160 - £200 a load. Then most quarrys charge about £30-£40 a tip. Then pay the driver… to be honest you can move aboit 11.5T in 20 mins. So all in all there is money to be made. But I don’t know about other charges like insurance, 6 weekly checks and o licence. I drive a 56 plate grab truck and to be honest it’s bang on. Only thing that I go through the most is tyres haha. But there is now a hydrologic leak which will cost them 2k. Anyway thank you in advance id like to know some rough numbers.

Tyres, Hydrologic Oil and Pipes. What about work and fuel [FUEL PUMP]️

If you’re earning £500/£600 a week I would forget it

Wheel Nut:
Tyres, Hydrologic Oil and Pipes. What about work and fuel [FUEL PUMP]️

If you’re earning £500/£600 a week I would forget it

Yeah i hear what your saying. But id stay in my current job. And get someone working for me until I build up my custom

Don’t forget waste carriers licence for each local authority you intend to operate within.

el_presidente:
Don’t forget waste carriers licence for each local authority you intend to operate within.

A waste carriers licence is valid for the haulier anywhere , what your thinking of is more to do with the transit tipper scrap dealer man called mobile collectors licence .

Dodgy stuff that hydrologic oil you know

Dont forget you’ll also need loler inspections on the grab

If your currently driving a grab lorry for a local firm would they be happy for you to start pinching “their” customers or would you want to be a subbie for them?

First thing to do is check out vehicle insurance, if you can find a good deal please let us know where…

30-40 quid to tip a load?
Where I work we currently pay 11 quid plus vat per ton to tip muck,and that’s cheap for the area!!