Euro 6 daf or Scania

510 Euro 6 daf top spec or Scania 450 council spec both around 3 years old with similar mileage and similar price.
Reliability wise thoughts please

We have both makes in Euro6 spec but really mega 320bhp models! and I have to say i dont like Scania at all but they have been really good, the Dafs on the other hand, MX11 and PX7 engines spend their entire lives either with the dash warnings on or in the dealers being fixed.
Scania as crude as can be to drive and they shake your liver loose when running empty, Daf goes around corners like its on rails.

I seriously believe owning any Euro6 motor is a path to financial destruction.

I have a Scania R480(euro 5 SCR) which I’ve been running for nearly two years. It’s my first Scania in forty years of owner driving, and frankly, it’s been a disappointment in many ways.
Why? Well , after many years of Volvos, it’s a very different beast.
Heavy, not great on fuel, and it’s hard to feel a difference in performance between a 420 Volvo and the 480 Scania. Comfort wise, it’s not too bad once you get used to it. But nothing like the best truck on wheels, the Volvo FM.

Reliable? One NOX sensor, one starter and one ABS wheel sensor in two years in tough conditions.
Would I buy another one? YES. especially if a second hand purchase. Buying new, there are no really bad trucks any more, but a much wiser man than I once told me that you only see the value in the Scania (and Volvo) trucks when they are old.

I see no reason to disagree

Good sensible choice either way.
Personally I have run Dafs from new to 3 years with out too many issues. They have always made me money as well as being great trucks ( original 530 and later 510’s SSC ) to live and work in.
But when buying older used went for R112 333 then much later an R143 450 Topline as I felt a better bet as older lorries.

No major let downs from Scanias although both quite a harsh ride ( 6x2 tags on steel [emoji51])