R.A.C.Transport

When I started in road Haulage in 1977 I remember visiting the above company that operated from a yard in Lymm,something the owner of the business said at the time has stuck in my mind ever since.Diesel and wages must not be more than 50% of the vehicles earnings and there was a sufficiency to survive.
Cut to yesterday when I visited a well respected firm under good management,they are running modern Scania’s fully freighted all the time,I was shown the fuel figures and irrespective of BHP they all seem to be doing around 6mpg,with fuel at £4.50 per gallon i.e.75p per mile they would need £3.00 p mile.There is more chance of flying to the moon.
So 40 years later where have we got to,we are like the country in big trouble and what next.
The problem is I Have been telling the same story for the past 40 years,it’s just the debt is never going down .

Happy Christmas.

We now suffer a trading culture in which every business seems to think its suppliers and staff are there solely to subsidise its existence.

I wish my wages and fuel came to less than 50% of earnings.

When I came into the business in the early 1990’s the main problems were :

Cost of diesel
Lack of drivers
Difficulty getting increases from customers.

Some things never change.

Im sure T/N member “Albion” says he applies the same rule of thumb with regard to the diesel + wages costing.
There was another post a while ago from another long time O/D who uses the rule that the cost of the round trip fuel used, should not be more than 30% of the total job price.

bullitt:
Im sure T/N member “Albion” says she applies the same rule of thumb with regard to the diesel + wages costing.
There was another post a while ago from another long time O/D who uses the rule that the cost of the round trip fuel used, should not be more than 30% of the total job price.

There, that’s better!

TiredAndEmotional:

bullitt: