Becoming an owner driver

Hi guys I’m a driver from South Wales.

I may have a chance to buy a Hanson spec Lorry in the new year and go owner driver which iv always thought about Do you have any Info on this such as contracts, what kind of money I need upfront for costs ect as google is just jibberish.

Thank you

Hope you can help .

Hi Nicky, search this forum, and you should get all the answers you need. You might want to delete this post too, before the inevitable barrage of abuse, for not searching, begins.

this is a bit blatant if its dozy starting over??.. :confused:

however…if its gen…search on here.and if you dont know…dont do it…

You,ll make £10,000 a week don’t hang about lad, go for it stop thinking it over bite the bullet.

Find the work first. You need a customer(s) who pay you quickly (30 days from date of invoice max). Dependant on what your doing you could use £ 1300-1400 per week in fuel. You’ll need to be VAT reg’d from the off. Set your company up.You’ll need to apply for the O licence, will need a CPC holder for your transport manager and sufficient funds to convince the LA that you can operate the vehicle… check their website but its around £7.5k. I note you’re looking at buying. We went the other way and leased to start with. No sleepless nights. One fixed price per month and no maintenance/breakdown hassle. We needed to put down 3 months up front but when we got the 2nd & 3rd it was a lot easier as we were already established. Insurance was £ 3500 per year. Includes PLI, ELI, Goods In Transit (My customer wanted up to EURO 500’000) and motor vehicle.

If you are commited you will make it work. Yes, you can earn more money working for someone else, BUT you are building a business for yourself. I’ve read all the neg feedback on here… If you need any info, pm me

Cheers.

did someone say the hansons and specs??

slap-shot-hansons-premiere_scruberthumbnail_1.jpg

picture_man36: