Late payment fees

Hi all,

I’ve had a bit of disappointment with a company I subbed to. I notified them two weeks ago that their rates were unsustainable and I had no choice but to find work elsewhere. I did that on payment date so that week’s money was not affected. Since then they were three days late paying last week’s money and at the time of writing have not paid this weeks invoice.

I’ve been working for these guys for about 10 months, 8 and a half driving one of their wagons and 1.5 as a subbie and in all that time they were late paying once, by a single day. Then I notified them that I was leaving and they are messing about with the money. Last week I emailed them and got told that it would be in by Monday morning, which it was, this week I’ve phoned and left a voicemail yesterday but had no response at all.

Our agreement doesn’t have any terms governing late payments which means that the rules are covered in the Late Payments of Commercial Debts (Interest) Act 1998. That means that I am entitled to charge 8.25% of invoice / 365 x 3 for the first late payment and a currently unknown number of days for the second late invoice. Plus I have one more invoice outstanding with them so god knows what is going to happen with that. Also I can charge £70 per invoice compensation for the late payments.

There is no worries about souring the relationship, I think I did that pretty convincingly when I told 'em I had to go because the planner they think is the best in the industry couldn’t organise a raffle. If they mess about with the last invoice too, making all three invoices three days late it would allow me to invoice them for £215, which would handily cover my overdraft interest bills for the time that I’ve been in it due to poor planning and rates. (Seriously, a fairly major haulier couldn’t figure out that I was earning 91p for every £1 I spent!)

My questions are these: