O/D with a HGV wrecker?

Must be Some money to make as O/D@ The HGV recovery lark??

The 3truck shunt@ Dumfries bypass last week cost the two firms involved £6.5k to get the units alone back to Cairnryan.

That is £6.5k EACH!!![emoji52]

Money had to be deposited in wrecker firms bank BEFORE units were even moved!!!

Sent from my SM-J500FN using Tapatalk

It be up to 10k each by the end of the week in the rdc waiting rooms…

I’m no expert but I think the recovery firms have to police approved etc so probably a bit of a closed shop and ultimately a shafting for the unlucky operators!

There was a thread on here a while back of a owner driver or small company getting a truck pulled a short distance (a couple of miles if memory serves correctly) off the motorway by the police approved contractor) to a slip road or services and it cost him around 3k, ended up fighting a legal battle but don’t think he got anything back! I think he was in the process of arranging his own recovery until the cops turned up.

Moving big heavy trucks needs even bigger heavier trucks. Not cheap and can be stood for ages before a job comes in-- no one books their breakdowns or accidents in advance! 24hr 365day cover needed too. Recovery is expensive for a reason, its costly to provide it. As already said a contract with Police/Highways whoever could be a nice earner, but I doubt they’d give a chance to a start up operation.

Sent from my GT-S7275R using Tapatalk

It is not impossible to start off from scratch in heavy recovery, but it does help to have an idea about how to get the thing going again since you will need something to bring in revenue while you are waiting for the next recovery. So a yard large enough for the hook and a few disabled vehicles will also be required. It also helps to have a fairy godmother.