Cost of External Transport Manager

I recently told some I used to be a Transport Manager for I was going to have to charge them £56.00 a week. I was promptly told my services were no longer required It cost 15 quid in fuel round trip to visit so basically you get 40 quid for the day. What do other TM charge roughly I cant afford to do it for less this was for one vehicle by the way

I know people paying anywhere between £50 and £100 per week for a single vehicle licence. The minimum number of hours is 8, so even at minimum wage that is £52 and for the level of responsibility minimum wage is hardly fair. My wife is my transport manager, so I get away with just paying her in kind :wink:

This wont help you but may help me. Can someone be their own transport manager? so you dont have to pay anyone else or the Mrs.
Ps surely the company will shoot themselves in the foot, if they pay less than min wage.

WalkerG:
This wont help you but may help me. Can someone be their own transport manager? so you dont have to pay anyone else or the Mrs.

Yes, I’m my own TM.

Harry Monk:

WalkerG:

Yes, I’m my own TM.

Me too :wink:

And it’s the best option for a small haulier, paying £100 a week ( which is probably the minimum a external TM would need to do the job) is a expense that most would be better without

I have been an external Transport Manager for 26 years, and for anyone asking me to act for them these days I would charge £100.00 a week, plus expenses for one vehicle, which is just over £12.00 an hour for 8 hours. Not that I wish to take any more operators on in the future.
I’m at an age for winding down from legislation.

Harry Monk:

WalkerG:

Yes, I’m my own TM.

Me too.

Good morning all,

We have an application in for an Operators licence for our (so far) 1 truck and trailer to operate out of our unit here at Holmewood nr Chesterfield in Derbyshire.
We are going to be involved in moving vehicles around the UK and, in the not too distant future, Europe.