clampers

This happened to me around 1990 in Doncaster.

Was out of work and decided to go back to collage and do a computer course, anyway I parked the car in the collage car park and went to enrol, after sorting it all out as I was a mature student I came out to find that the car had been clamped, goes back in to the collage and had a word at reception who said I should have had a parking permit and there was nothing they could do about it as there were signs to that effect, so back I goes and could not see any signs, off I goes to the police station and had a word with them, they said that there should be a sign there and if there was no sign then they could not clamp me, gets in touch with the clamping company who said that I would have to pay the fine to get the clamp off so I told them what the police had told me, they said they would come down and show me the sign, eventually he arrives and walks round my car and said the sign should be on the wall beside my car so he gets a sign out of his van and said this is the sign.

Just a minute sunshine the sign should be on the wall and it is not so it is illegal to clamp anyone until the sign is put back up, ah but we have trouble with the students nicking the signs, tough thingies, get the clamp off or I go down to the police and charge you with disabling my property and it will be against you and not the company you work for as you should know the law, well it did not take him long to remove it after that.

I really never did find out how that sign got in my car.

Balloonie

balloonie:
This happened to me around 1990 in Doncaster.