What vehicle can I legal drive when 75

Gentlemen ,when I reach 75 this year am I able to hire a van 3.5 ton , I have looked at the D.V.L.A. site and got baffled, are the any age restrictions.or is it insurance??

supposing I was a owner driver and passed a medicial, would you be able to drive your own hgv?? aged 75,I have no idea.

Yes you can i know 3 drivers in my home town of Sheffield 1 works at an old firm I use to work for he’s 76 another’s at a firm I sub for he’s 78 and my mate who dose some casual for me he’s 74 he’s from Leeds these lads do a better job that the younger generation and my policy is only 800 quid

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Our oldest LGV C+E driver is 83, and he does 2 or 3 days a week. We keep a DAF CF for him, fewer steps to get into the cab. :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Thanks I, should have said I only have a car licence ,no HGV NOW

peggydeckboy:
Thanks I, should have said I only have a car licence ,no HGV NOW

Did you have a LGV licence :question:

Thanks ROG only since they first came out ,until 2002 however you will know what I want to know ,

if I go to hire a van to move ,it will be at lest 3 ton-ish I would say ,and I passed my test in 1966, h.g.v Grandfather rites ,also I know about the retest for a car and trailer if a car test was taken before 1997, but it just a van,I was told that I would not be able to hire one because of my AGE 75 IN APRIL, I have car insurance fully com, THATS ABOUT THE BONES OF IT,I would appreciate a opinion please .dbp Ps read my driving history maybe a bout 7pages back…

peggydeckboy: