Newbie to international

hi all,

flying into Italy next week to pick up my new car transporter, will be my first time driving wagons across the water and will be the start of regular trips to France Belgium Italy and potentially Spain, any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, ive had a read over the essentials i need with me.

cheers all

“New” as in “brand new”? Will the vehicle be already reg with all docs and reg plates? UK reg vehicle?
Will toll tags/boxes be fitted or will you be on cards for first trip?

Sent from my GT-S7275R using Tapatalk

vehicle has been registered this week on uk plates ive been told, so will have reg plates on it when i collect it, tag and toll boxes on order but not received yet so first run will be on the card to get me home. cheers

I’ve no experience of car transporters but do be very aware of your height at all times, but all this 16’5" stuff with cars hanging off of a roof rack in front of your cab is gone.
So long as you have all papers for vehicle, load and yourself all should be ok. Breath in, and hunch up your shoulders at the peages and the truck will go through. Plan your route before turning on your satnav then see if it suggests summit different. If you’re on a small wheeled outfit remember to use engine braking. You’ll be meeting some proper slopes which will warm up your brakes if you’re not careful.
If on cards rather than tags you’ll be scrambling across the cab to pay (assuming RHD). Don’t follow other trucks through the auto lanes for tags.
Once you’ve got past the first couple of trips all will be easy. Better facilities roads etc on the whole. Enjoy!
Edit. International work equals 4metres height.

Sent from my GT-S7275R using Tapatalk