Pull up a sandbag bag!

Well after working out how to use the scanner / copier that Santa brought me I finally decided to give it a go and post some pics.
These are some of the pics I took whilst working in Bosnia during the Balkans war, from 1992 -1994.They are in no particular order, this is my first attempt so bear with me and pull up a sandbag cos we`re off to war!! :laughing:

Dockside at Felixstowe, waiting for the off.

The DAF 3300 wagon and drag, a brilliant truck, hard as nails, hardly ever broke down and took some real pounding on some of the roads and tracks out there.The “A” frame drawbar trailers were only used as far as our operating base at Metkovic, in Southern Croatia on the Bosnian Croatian border,

A few months into the job, with out the drags, these trucks went through some real batterings on the roads and tracks but stood up really well, including the Eaton twin split gearbox!!

Off the hard standing and up into the mountains on the dirt tracks. Snow and ice in the winter, dust clouds in the summer and horrible mud any other time!!

What was know as the Mac-a-dam road, was in fact a dirt track running from Gorni Vakuf, through the forests and hills eventually bringing you out on the road to Travnik.What you can see is one of the few local trucks, he lost it in the ice and snow and ended up one its side just short of the river!!

Chaining up outside of a town called Konjic, notice they are brand new chains!! Also, plenty of ropes!! The loads were usually 15-18 tonne of flour in 50kg (about 8 stone) sacks. The sack were made plastic fibres and slid all over the place, especially over each other and were a nightmare, especially with the terrain we had to drive over!!

Sniper Alley, Sarajevo, running from the airport to the city, this was once the main TIR transit route!! Any of you old long distance hands recognise it?

Bullet hole in my drivers door courtesy (thankfully) of a sniper with dodgy eyesight!! :laughing: