Heating Oil. Should we be concerned?

Hi Drivers

I hope that as a result of my posting I am not treated as an unwelcome guest.

I am not a professional driver, but I need to reach out to some of you that are.

I have been running a heating oil buying group for over two years. The group has just under 2,000 members spread across Essex & Suffolk, and the vast majority of users submit their orders via their local group website

Over the past few months I have encouraged my members to discuss various issues of concern and as a result eight members reported that they feel they have not received the oil that they have ordered and paid for.

Some of those reports are backed up with very convincing evidence. Although the percentage of reports was high for one particular distributor, other distributors I have used have been mentioned by my members.

The reports are not aboout small discrepancies that would be difficult to prove, but discrepancies of 100 litres and above.

To get a better overall picture of just how much heating oil customers trust the process of their oil deliveries, I carried out an online survey over the last weekend, and whilst responses are still coming in, the current state of play shows that 25% of my members suspect that at some time they have not received the heating oil that they have paid for.

Most members it seems have implicit trust in the tanker metering system that provides the delivery note.

As a result of my member feedback, I have had a discussion with one supplier who has explained just how easy it is for a driver to deliver short and still provide a valid delivery note.

In addition, one of my members has reported this…

"I spoke to a retired tanker driver about fiddles. The most common is the “pipe trick”