Freelance Driving

Ive been driving for 4 years now on a CLASS 1 ticket and have done 2 years general haulage plus 2 years working for an agency, Im giving due consideration to going freelance. Is there anybody on here who could give me some guidance regarding this subject■■? Also any info on agency rates would proove to be very useful knowledge [/b]

One way I can think of getting agency rates is phone them as JBloggs Haulage or sommat, and ask what they charge!

Mal.

forget the agency rates, you won’t get work that way.
you have to remember that agencies have a number of drivers to supply therefore have to ensure that they can meet the demands of their clients, most agencies have insurance to cover damage by drivers supplied to customers and a lot of transport companies will only give work to agencies that have this.
agencies also have overheads that a transport company takes into consideration when paying the bills, some have payment terms and conditions that you could not meet, payment on 30 days or 60 days or 90 days from reciept of invoice accompanied by relevant tacho charts.
the first thing you have to do is find the work, you must have several customers to be able to do this legally, having one is not good enough, you have to have evidence that you are in control of your business and are not tied to an employer but free to move between them as you wish.
you also need to ensure that you can manage financially over the weeks that you may only get 3 days work.
most importantly you need to be reliable and trustworthy, presentable and hard working with a very yes attitude, when you are an employee there are things that you can say no to, no i am not handballing that, it isn’t my job.
no i am not driving that truck, it smells and doesn’t look good.
when you work for yourself you have to bite your tongue and nothing is ever too much trouble as long as it’s legal.
think about it, it isn’t easy but it is enjoyable.