1st timer in an artic!

Its time for some pro opinion,

Its my first day (well night) trunking in a Class 1 later today. Yep its sqeaky bum time. My question is are there any guides/diagrams/positioning tips for reversing into tight roads/bays etc? I’m fine with the driving on the raod bit (afterall the carnage is left behind :smiley: ), and my reversing exercise in the test (passed 1st time :sunglasses: ) was a breeze. But lets face it… its a massive, empty, level yard. But in a crappy bad lit, pothole covered, busy yard or road i’m a bit well :confused: :question: :exclamation: .

Is it as simple as take yer time and leave plenty of room?

I must sound a right numpty here but if I can get a better mental picture, maybe I won’t need to pack my brown pants :grimacing:

Thanks in advance!

Hi mate,

I’m a newbie myself. I’ve found watching a few things on YouTube quite a big help, to see how Artics manouver, how much steering to put on etc.

try watching this youtube.com/watch?v=0Y_A-dcdRRg to give you some idea :slight_smile:

davedastardly:

YES and GOAL - Get Out And Look

If you GOAL ■■■ amount of times to be safe - so what!!

If there is an experienced driver about and you are struggling - ASK FOR HELP - tell them you are a newbie…

I won’t go into details (unless you want me to) but I got to one place and had their own artic driver reverse it in for me :exclamation: :exclamation: - that was in 2004 and I passed my artic test in 1988 :open_mouth: :laughing:

christ what a struggle! Cheers mate will have a gander about.

I always had trouble at the docks reversing under containers until an old guy told me to “back it up to here nice n straight then give it half a left turn and forget everything else” worked a treat - take advice and don’t be afraid to get out and check.